Review: Revival by Stephen King

Book: Revival by Stephen King

Published: November 11, 2014

Genre: Horror & Science Fiction

Reviewer: Kenny

As I sit here typing, I wonder why I never reviewed this book before. I have a few that I have to write reviews for, and this one has been a long time coming. This was my first EVER… Yep. First EVER Stephen King book. I knew of King. I saw Pet Sematary and The Shining (the movies), but I had never read a King book. I’m not really sure why that is. But, you didn’t come here for my life story; you came here for this review. Here it is:

I loved it. This book is the reason King is my favorite author and why I’m biased in any conversation involving King. My wife got me this book, and at first, I saw the name and was like, “Revival? This a religious book, or…?” And she said, “No.”

Revival Book Cover

The story follows Jamie, who starts off as a child in New England and ends the story as an adult. He is a fairly normal child until he meets the new minister, Pastor Charles Jacobs. Yes, Jacobs is a pastor, but this story is not a religious story. It’s Stephen King. So, Jacobs, while a man of religion, also believes in science. He believes in science to the point where he believes electricity can fix pretty much anything that is wrong with a person. In a way, he’s a mad scientist.

Eventually, Jacobs is banished from the church, after he denounces God and religion… In front of the entire congregation. He’s driven to this by the fact that his wife and child die in a gruesome accident. It is really really gruesome… So, Jacobs leaves town. Later in life, Jamie grows up and becomes an addict. He one days runs into Jacobs again, who is still doing his electricity healing thing, and he allows Jacobs to “cure” him of his addiction. That “cure” comes with unforseen side effects.

The ending is crazy. I won’t tell you what happens. Trust me, you’ll want to read this story and experience it from the beginning to the end for yourself. It’s awesome. This novel is still one of my favorite Stephen King novels, and it always will be.

I highly recommend it. 4.97 out of 5 books.

Listen and Subscribe to our podcast, Bookish Impulses, on all your podcast apps for FREE. To get episodes before everyone else, download the FREE Anchor app and favorite us! It’s that easy.

Follow us on Twitter, Instagram, and Litsy @bookishimpulses

Follow me on Twitter, Instagram, and Litsy @kennethtolesjr

Follow Yesenia on Instagram @imthebookaddict and Litsy @thebookaddict

If you’re an author and want your book reviewed for FREE, shoot us a DM. All reviews are 100% HONEST REVIEWS.

Leave a comment